I used analytical, critical, creative and organisational skills during my time at Channel 4 (February 2016) when organising future events and working with social media. At the time I was using skills I didn’t know I had. Visualising problems with  ‘My Kinda Future’ social Media content and giving possible solutions through knowledge and experience, I learnt I was being analytical. Notes taken from my day at MFK can be found here. I realised I was doing a lot of analysing during my week at Channel 4 and found the more I was being analytical, the more I learnt to apply it to every task I was doing. This skill will be important for me in the future as a runner, researcher or a Producer as I need to be able to solve problems by making decisions that are do-able and productive.  I attended a meeting (February 17th 2016) to discuss a networking event for companies and professionals that Channel 4 were holding in March 2016, I was able to use my critical thinking skills and question the location of the event. In my opinion the location was unsuitable for disabled attendees as it was down in the basement area of the building where there wasn’t much room to accommodate wheelchairs meaning any wheelchair users would be excluded from most of the event.

the drum
The ‘Drum’ basement.

At first I was worried my opinion would be dismissed as I was work experience but I had a big impact on the outcome as this resulted in the event having its whole location changed as it was not disabled accessible. Having developed my ability to critically recognise problems in situations, I now feel this is a skill I can use confidently in my future career.

 

I used creativity skills when creating tweets for the 4Talent twitter page regarding upcoming events and opportunities at Channel 4. It was important to get all the relevant information into 140 characters and I enjoyed being creative with my words. My favourite was this:

IMG_4604

Creativity is an important tool for a producer as it shows I can generate ideas. At Channel 4, my creative tweets generated successful marketing as a lot of people applied for the events I was advertising. I have learnt that creativity can be small steps towards a bigger picture to ensure success as a whole team. I feel a lot more confident about using my creative skills in the future and don’t feel as pressurised.

social media
Using social media to ‘schedule’ tweets during out of office hours to ensure connections are always being made.
4talent tweets
Tweets I conjured up to over 70’000 4Talent followers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

creative
Using my creative skills to organise future events at Channel 4.

The channel 4 pop up (November 2016) was my first taste of a real job when I was asked to be a part of the channel 4 crew for the day. I was introduced as a member of Channel 4 and was also a judge for the day so my skills were really put to the test as I had to communicate with all the groups, ask questions, give advice and ultimately give my own personal opinions whilst judging other groups work. This also enabled me to develop my leadership skills and team building skills as I was influencing decisions made, by effectively expressing my thoughts and opinions and motivating the teams by providing support, direction and feedback. What was really useful to me was learning I used negotiating tools. There was an issue with a team where a team member wasn’t being used to their full potential, so I took the decision to move her to a group that were struggling with an area of her expertise. The agreement left both parties happy and both groups produced something of high quality. I believe the decision I made was for the right reasons and choices that pulled off.  Answering questions all day made me feel like part of the team.  I was an important part of the smooth running of the day and can also count this as a runner’s credit on my CV.  I was able to inspire others with my story of my disability and how it hasn’t stopped me from wanting a career in the TV industry. This was the first time I had ever received a professional Call Sheet setting times, objectives and an outline of the day showing me how things work in the industry.

Below: Channel 4 Pop up Doncaster. November 2016. Judge and support member.

I was able to use various skills when planning and organising a shoot on the Children’s TV Producer course and the Production management course (February 2017).  I broke down scripts in order to create running orders and call sheets by looking for inconsistencies that could affect smooth running of filming. I looked at numerous factors that can affect a shoot including:

  • Child actors (licenses, working times)
  • Locations
  • Script
  • Budgets
  • Call times
  • Contingency plans
  • costume/hair & makeup
  • Health & Safety
  • Equipment & Technology
  • Vehicles

All of these things and more need to be taken into consideration when planning a shoot to ensure it runs smoothly. At first I did not notice all of the factors I had to take into consideration. Only when I started thinking critically was I able to ask how?, why?, when? etc.  Once I started to think critically, planning became more productive. Breaking down a real script taught me just how much attention to detail is essential. I found planning a shoot involving children particularly hard as there’s so many other options to take into consideration such as time allowed on set, chaperones and limited contact between crew and the children and it was easy to forget those details when planning each day.  Now I have had an insight into the work required of a Producer, I can continue to develop my skills in planning a shoot. I did learn I am particularly concise in Health & Safety and of the group, produced the best Health and safety Audit which can be viewed here.  Feedback received from Addie Orfila was I have paid attention to detail and my crew would be fully prepared should this shoot go ahead as not only did I look at  general Health & Safety, I included risks of each days filming. I was very happy with the comments and feel confident in this essential area of production. As a next step I need to work on developing contingency plans for if things go wrong and look at planning productively to ensure as little time and money is wasted as possible.

1

2
Breaking down a script into scenes, characters, location, props to help me plan a schedule and running order. (Television Production Course, February 2017 with Addie Orfila.)

 

